Winding down

Posted on May 29, 2011 by

0


Spring is always busy. The return of great weather somehow always coincides with a crazy schedule. There is suddenly so much to do (and so much that’s fun to do!) that it’s hard to find time to slow down and relax. The weather has been a little cloudy this weekend, so I grabbed the opportunity to wind down and enjoy myself at home. I spent a lot of time reading, eating rhubarb pie and dreaming of my next knitting project. I want to knit a cute summer sweater but with so many new and wonderful patterns out there, I am having a hard time deciding. So I’ve been swatching.

Swatching

My top three choices (from top to bottom) are Old Maiden Aunt yarn 80% alpaca/20% silk dk yarn in lon-dubh for Ysolda’s Cria, Knit Picks Gloss in Burgundy for Ysolda’s Laika and Madelinetosh Pashmina in Terra for Gudrun’s Soay. All of the patterns and yarns are wonderful, so I’m excited to see which I’ll end up falling for.

And speaking of summer sweaters, I finished one recently that is fast becoming a new favorite.

A new sweater for summer

The pattern is by Veera, but it is not out yet. It’s a very simple, but satisfying knit. I love the simplicity of the design combined with the bright turquoise color. The yarn that I used is an old favorite: Garnstudio DROPS Alpaca. You can find my version on Ravlery here.

Posted in: Projects, Weekend