Stripe study shawl

Posted on March 27, 2011 by

4


Yesterday we took a long walk, looking for more signs of spring. I saw melting snow, newly arrived birds and yellow and white flowers. We enjoyed our afternoon tea underneath a few oak trees in the sun. It was still cold, but we had wool.  It was the perfect way to spend the day and a perfect way to enjoy a new shawl.

Stripe study shawl

This is my version of Veera’s newest shawl design, which I knit in hairy, unspun Ístex Plötulopi Icelandic wool. It is striped, asymmetrical and pretty much wonderful.

Stripe study shawl

It stays on your shoulders. It looks great. It’s warm. And it was fun to knit. The pattern is easy but with a fun twist (short row shaping). And while these colors remind me more of autumn than spring, I think that it’ll get a lot of early spring use. Because while it may be spring, it is still only +5 degrees celsius outside. Brrr!!!

Stripe study shawl