A celebration of gray

Posted on December 18, 2010 by

3


Winter solstice is only a few days away and my world here in Sweden is gray. The sun rises at 8:50 and sets at 14:50, and, while it is dark, I still find that I enjoy this time of the year. I love the hibernation, the ridiculous amounts of tea consumed and I love the empty, white landscape.

Djäkneberget

This winter world, filled with gray and white, inspired my newest shawl, which I fittingly called Winter Joy.

Winter Joy Shawl

Pattern: Winter Joy. My own design, though there’s no pattern. You can see my project notes on Ravelry for tips on “copying” it if you want. The center was knit first in my main color and then sts were picked up along the edge and a border, inspired by the classic feather and fan pattern, was knit in 5 colors. I ended it all with an I-cord BO.

Yarn: M&K Eco Baby Ull – 100% organic, single ply wool. Lovely, soft stuff.

Winter Joy Shawl

It’s hard to not love winter when you have wool!

