Snow White

Posted on November 15, 2010 by

2


First big snowfall of the season

Just in time for our first big snowfall this week (sadly, it’s melted now and our weather is rainy again), I finished a new white winter sweater that is sure to me one of my favorites during the coming months.

Demi

Pattern: Demi by Kim Hargreaves from the book Rowan Vintage Knits. My version is on Ravelry here.

Yarn: Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool, 3 skeins. The yarn was a christmas present from my Grandmother. It comes in huge 227 g skeins that cost only $11, which is great since there is nothing better than good wool yarn that is reasonably priced! I loved the yarn, but I did have some issues with it. Even though I was knitting on 3.0mm needles, I still think that my tension was too loose. And my knitting looks a little uneven, which bugs me like no other. I’m hoping that the yarn will become fuzzy with time and fill out a little (and that my knitting will even out with wear and after a few washings).

Modifications (there’s a lot of them): Longer arms. Knit the body in the round until the underarms, then divided and knit the front and back separately (in the end, I sewed a fake seam in to make the side cables look better). Knit the sleeve cuffs in the round and then knit the arms flat. Knit a size M for the hips, decreased to a size S, and then increased to a size S bust (my gauge was off, so this turned out to be a 35” bust). I also used a 3-stitch bobble instead of 5-stitch.

Demi

Even with all my yarn and gauge issues, I still adore this sweater. It fits perfectly, is pretty and is fast becoming one of my favorite sweaters to wear with my PJ’s while curling up on the couch with a cup of tea in the morning.

Posted in: Outside, Projects