Knitting: Madrona Shawl

Posted on October 27, 2010 by

3


I’ve been sick the last few days, so I’ve been spending a lot of time sleeping, knitting, drinking tea and watching the rain outside my window. It’s definietly put a dent in my whole plan to finish up my Apple Spice pattern (which is so close to being finished… Anyone out there feel like test knitting it?), but luckily it’s given me the time to publish my Madrona Shawl pattern.

Madrona Shawl

The pattern: Madrona Shawl. My pattern, available for purchase now at my ravelry store.

Madrona is inspired by the changing colors of tree leaves and the new chill in the air that marks the beginning of a wonderful new season: autumn. I thought it up and designed it while on a trip to Seattle, and knit it on the flight back to Sweden. Worked in DK weight yarn, it is a fast and satisfying knit that gives lovely results. The shawl is knit from the top down, increasing 4 stitches every other row. Both written instructions and charts are given for the lace leaf pattern.

The yarn I used was Knit Picks City Tweed DK, which is a lovely yarn that is soft and reasonably priced. You’ll need 3 skeins to make a shawl, though about 310 yards of any DK weight yarn will work as well for the pattern.

Madrona Shawl

Enjoy!

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Design, Projects