Knitting: Golden Wheat

Posted on October 22, 2010 by

5


Golden wheat

Knitting pattern: golden wheat by Veera. My version is on Ravelry here.

Yarn: 4 skeins Cascade Wool 220 & 2 skeins Cascade Alpaca Lace, held double. Cascade Wool 220 is the most popular yarn on Ravelry, so there’s not much I could  say that hasn’t been said before. It’s a nice, basic wool yarn that is reasonably priced. I loved working with the Cascade Alpaca Lace – beautiful colors and all the wonderfulness that is alpaca.

Mods: shorter arms (I ran out of yarn), no waist shaping & no pocket. I knit a pocket but I kind of like the sweater without the pocket too. The jury is still out on that one. Maybe there will be a pocket one day.

If I had to do it again: I’d add one more button  and make the collar longer.

Verdict: Love it. It’s simple, but different enough so it’s not boring. A good everyday sweater that is still a little on the fancy side (for me at least) so I can wear it over a dress to parties and gatherings.

Golden wheat

I haven’t knit anything in this color to myself in ages and (surprise, surprise) I love to wear red. It makes me feel alive when the sky is overcast and gray (like today).

Posted in: Projects